December 14, 2017

Football: Golden Jaguars arrive in Indonesia for historic clash

Guyana Senior Men’s Football Team commonly called Golden Jaguars arrived in Indonesia on Tuesday for their momentous clash against the host on Sunday in Jakarta.
The 19-man squad is expected to begin training to face an opponent they will be meeting for the first time for a debut match in the continent of Asia.

Golden Jaguars at the Soekarno–Hatta International Airport in Indonesia

The squad consists two Goalkeepers, five Defenders, seven Midfielders and five Forwards, including locals Dwain Jacobs (Police FC), Trayon Bobb (Uitvulgt FC), Curtez Kellman (Georgetown FC), Denzil Fordyce (Milerock FC) and Anthony Abrams, Jeremy Garrett and Cecil Jackman (Fruta Conquerors FC).
Wayne Dover, Interim Head Coach, said the squad is one of youth and experience: “The composition of the squad is a good blend of overseas and locally-based players. Most of the locally-based players have played over 10 games for Guyana at the senior level while it would be valuable exposure for the likes of Jeremy Garrett, Cecil Jackman, Denzil Fordyce, Kelsey Benjamin and Curtez Kellman. This group of young players has an average age of 20 years and this augurs well for the programme to see them in the senior final 19-man squad. As the Elite league gets underway, many more opportunities would be given to the players from the league even as Guyana prepares for the 2018/19 Caribbean Cup.
“The game against Indonesia is a very interesting fixture given the fact that it is the first time Guyana will be playing against a team from South East Asia,” Dover said.
“The coaching staff, players and administration want to ensure we get a positive result to make history, winning our first game in that side of the world. This effort by all involved will be seen as ‘one team, one dream’ to make it happen,” Dover added.
With Charles Pollard as Assistant Coach, Eon De Veira as Goalkeeper Coach and Rawle Adams as Manager, the Full Squad reads: Goal keepers: Akel Clarke (North East Star FC), Andrew Durant (San Juan Jabloteh FC); Defenders: Christopher Bourne (Islington Admiral United FC) England Jake Newton (Walton & Hersham FC), Jelani Smith ( Sigma FC), Jeremy Garrett (Fruta Conquerors), Cecil Jackman (Fruta Conquerors); Mid-fielders: Dwain Jacobs (Police FC), Brandon Beresford (Rochester Rhinos FC), Anthony Benfield ( S.V. Nishan), Daniel Wilson (S.V. Nishan), Trayon Bobb (Uitvulgt FC), Curtez Kellman (Georgetown FC) Denzil Fordyce ( Milerock FC); Forwards: Shaquille Agard (Durham United FC), Kelsey Benjamin (Caledonia FC), Devonte Small (Reynir FC), Daniel Jodah ( Sigma FC), Anthony Abrams (Fruta Conquerors FC).